Automatic deletion of courses

Digicampus has implemented automatic deletion of old courses. The course goes into the deletion process if 6 months have passed since the end date or there has been no activity in the course for 12 months. The primary condition is the end date of the course, so even if the course has been active, the course will still be moved to be deleted if more than 6 months have passed since the end date.

The course first moves to the first deletion category, where it is 6 months. From this category, the teacher has the option to return the course back to the previous category by clicking the "Restore course from deletion" button on the managing tools on the front page of the course. At the same time, it is recommended to update the end date of the course, so that the course does not immediately end up back in the deletion process. If the course is actively used, the course must also be made visible through the course settings.

After 6 months, the course automatically moves to another deletion category, from which it is permanently deleted after 1 month. When the course is moved to this category an e-mail is sent to the teacher about the deletion of the course, so that they may ask to restore the course if necessary. In this case, the restoring of the course is made through support. The course teacher can send a request to support at support@digicampus.fi.

Please note that the purpose is for Digicampus to only have courses where teaching is actively organized, and not to store materials there for several years. Universities have their own ways of storing material.

 

Instructions for returning the course back to use

If necessary, the course teacher can return the course to use as follows:

1. Move the course back to the previous category by clicking the Managing tools -> Restore course from deletion button.

2. Update the course end date

   - On the course home page, click on the Managing tools -> Edit course settings button.

   - Change the end date of the course to a date that is in the future and save the change with the Save and display button at the bottom of the page. It is advised to use the date when the course actually ends. In this case, the course is still available to students for 6 months after the end date and goes into the automatic deletion process without any separate steps.

3. If the course is in active use and the students intend to attend the course

- On the course home page, click on the Managing tools -> Show course button.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.